I’m baaaack!

Happy Halloween everyone!  I apologize for the rather long hiatus.  But I’m back and ready to dive into writing/blogging again.

Today’s Halloween.  Where the heck did summer go?  And if Halloween came so fast, that means Thanksgiving and Christmas are lurking just around the corner.  The “holidays” are upon us, my friends.

Trick-or-treating in the neighborhood where I grew up was an event.  The streets teemed with children on Halloween night, going from door to door, their high-pitched voices squeaking out “Trick-or-treat!” as adults opened their doors.  I was a shy kid, and the idea of having to interact with that many grown-ups at one time was just a bit intimidating.  Fortunately I always had my cousin with me, which made going up the porch steps and ringing the doorbell a little easier.  Except for the year of the cat pins.

They were my aunt’s idea.  Plastic black cat pins with green eyes that lit up when their noses were pressed.  And then there was the tune, a whining two or three notes that alternated for what seemed like an eternity before it finally shut off.  Our aunt fastened them to our costumes (I think I went as a witch that year, so it coordinated), and then we were given instructions.  We had to press that button at every single house we went to, after the adult came to the door.  And we had to wait until the cat’s “song” played out in its entirety, thus prolonging my agony.  What my aunt thought would be cute was pure torture for me, but being the shy kid, I didn’t express it, so she didn’t know.  We tried to get around the rule at a few houses, to see if we could “forget” to push the little cat noses, but my aunt was never far behind, and would call out “Press the button!  Press the button!”  We had no choice.  The whining tune would crank up, the green eyes would flicker.  And so it went, from house to house, all night.  Relief finally came towards the end of our route when the batteries mercifully died.

That cat pin still exists today.  My mom brings it out every Halloween for my little nephews.  They love to press the nose and listen to the cat screech away, its eyes flashing.  It always makes me cringe.  I’m haunted by a piece of black plastic molded in the form of a cat.

11 Comments

Filed under General

11 responses to “I’m baaaack!

  1. Frank Bahnson

    Great piece Diana! Pam and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

  2. That is one adorable trauma.

  3. Jenny

    So glad you’re blogging again! Welcome back! I can relate to this because I too was a shy kid and I can remember that funny, nervous feeling of having to go up to a door and ring the doorbell on Halloween. But luckily I didn’t have anyone who made me “perform” like you had to! But maybe in a small way it made you a little tougher. 🙂

  4. Suzanne

    Loved the Halloween blog. I, too, can relate to being shy. I hated going up to stranger’s doors & ringing doorbells. Just goes to show what I’ll do for candy!

  5. Welcome back!

    Also, I enjoyed the story. I remember going door to door as a kid, but I live in the middle of nowhere now, so no one knocks on my door on Halloween.

    • Glad you liked it! I live in a neighborhood now where people come from all over the place in their minivans and drive their kids from door to door. Seems like it’d take some of the fun out of it. Thanks for your comment and for stopping by the blog!

Leave a Reply

