Downton Revisited

With Thanksgiving over, most people around here are counting down the days until Christmas.  But I’m counting down the days to Downton.  Okay, yeah, I’ll admit I’m looking forward to Christmas too.  But I have been eagerly anticipating Downton Abbey‘s return since season 2 ended.  I’ve been patient, and I haven’t looked up spoilers (well, I did come across one HUGE one, but I promise it was accidental, honest.  Blame it on Google).  And I hope my patience pays off.

I just finished re-watching the first season of the show and remembered why I fell in love with the series.  I’ll be the first to admit it is a guilty pleasure, a soap opera dressed up in period costume.  But the first season didn’t make that quite so apparent.  The scandals made more sense, and had major ramifications on the story line.  The second series was a little over the top at times (There was the whole “Matthew can’t walk, oh wait, he can!” thing.  And the scandal with maid Ethel and the soldier, then the scandal with the replacement maid and Lord Grantham.  And don’t forget forget (possibly) fake Patrick Crawley, who was in and out in one episode).  Did I still enjoy it?  Yes.  Did I buy the DVD?  Of course.  Am I going to watch it again to prepare for season 3? Absolutely.

BUT.  I do hope that season 3 will get back to the heart of what made season 1 so great.  Scandals?  Bring them on.  But make them a little more realistic, and a lot more important to the story arc of the series.

43 days until Downton and counting.  Don’t disappoint me, Julian Fellowes.

And for goodness sake, give Mary a reason to smile this season!

6 Comments

Filed under Downton Abbey, Period Pieces

6 responses to “Downton Revisited

  1. Suzanne

    I’m with you, Diana….Season 1 was the better of the two, but I just love the whole series! I can’t wait for Season 3 to start.

  2. Your views on the show seem exactly the same as mine. The second season was certainly soapier, but it’s still Downton, and I love it. (I also accidentally came across a huge spoiler for S3 – staying unspoiled is impossible.) Looking forward to having some discussions of the new season with you again this year!

    • Me too, Natalie! And I’m glad I’m not the only one who ran across that huge spoiler, so frustrating–but like you said, it’s impossible to remain unspoiled when it’s already aired in the UK. Thanks for your comment, it was good to hear from you!

  3. Linda S

    I just started watching the series a couple of weeks ago and finished season 2 last night. I can’t wait for season 3 to start. But it does kind of spoil you to get to watch all those episodes at one time.

    • It sure does! Just wait until season 3 is over and you have to wait an entire year for the next one! Thanks for your comment.

      • Linda S

        I did suspect that Matthew would walk again. I can’t recall exactly how the doctor worded it when he told him but he left wiggle room for that to happen – I noticed it at the time and figured he would walk again. But the maid and Lord Grantham thing was completely unexpected and I think she will come back into the picture sooner or later. I was as surprised by that kiss as she was.

Leave a Reply

